Latest news



Johnstones Trade Paint


Johnstone’s Trade has crowned its 35th Painter of the Year winner, following a prestigious awards evening on Saturday 12th May. This year’s Supreme Winner took home a new Ford Transit Connect van. Johnstone’s also awarded four Category Winners.

Following a challenging shortlisting process involving over 100 entries, guests at this year’s awards evening voted HEC Decorating Specialists Ltd to be both their Health & Education Category Winner and Supreme Winner for The Chocolate Works project in York.

Taking more than twenty decorators nearly five months to complete, The Chocolate Works Care Village was previously the home of world-renowned Terry’s Chocolate Factory. Following a £7 million renovation involving over 3,000 litres of Johnstone’s Trade paint, the site now has a new lease of life offering a care centre for working age adults.

Commenting on HEC Decorating Specialist’s Ltd achievement, Dean Bednarek, Managing Director, said: “We’re so excited to be crowned this year’s Painter of the Year by Johnstone’s Trade, it really means a lot. The Chocolate Works transformation was a huge job but such a fantastic project to be involved in. The new site will offer outstanding healthcare to lots of people who need it, and I’m really proud that our team could be a part of that. It was a brilliant team effort and we’re really thankful to Johnstone’s Trade for not only their help throughout the project, but for this award.”

In addition to the Supreme Winner, three other entrants were also crowned on the night as part of the competition’s sub-categories. These included:

  • External Category Winner: The Cube, Folkestone by Alfred Bagnall & Sons Ltd.

  • Restoration Category Winner: Victoria Palace Theatre, London by Broadley Group Ltd.

  • Commercial & Leisure Category Winner: Everyman Cinema, York by Crosby Decorators Ltd.

Sarah Clough, loyalty & event marketing manager at Johnstone’s Trade, commented on the Painter of the Year Awards and its winners: “Our Painter of the Year competition is a fantastic way to reward all of the outstanding work we see each and every year in our industry. We’re constantly amazed by the projects that are nominated and want to say a massive congratulations to all of this year’s finalists and winners. We would also like to thank all of our customers who entered a project.”
The Johnstone’s Painter of the Year Awards recognise and celebrate those in the trade contributing to brilliant decorating throughout the UK.
Finalists Included:
External Category

  • Bell Group UK Ltd – Unit 1, Bellshill Industrial Estate (Motherwell)

  • Alfred Bagnall & Sons – The Cube (Folkestone)

  • Metcalf Commercial Decorators Ltd – Overton Park Industrial Estate (Peterborough)

  • McCann Decor Ltd – Dumalis Retreat Centre (Larne)

  • John Richards Decorators Ltd – Steep Hill (Lincoln)

Restoration Category

  • Mackay Decorators Ltd – Perth Theatre & Concert Hall

  • B D Decorators – St Mary’s Church (Greenock)

  • Davison Solutions – The Towers (Jesmond)

  • Shane Smyth Decorators – Slane Distillery (County Meath)

  • Broadley Group – Victoria Palace Theatre (London)

Commercial & Leisure Category

  • Crosby Decorators Ltd – Everyman Cinema (York)

  • Alfred Bagnalls & Sons Ltd – Aerospace Museum (Bristol)

  • B & K Painting – Alternative Hair (Draperstown)

  • A C Beck Contracts Ltd – Embassy of the United States of America

  • Colin Duffy Decorators – Huckletree, The Academy (Dublin)

Health & Education Category

  • Corlin Ltd – Letterkenny Educate Together National School (County Donegal)

  • HEC Decorating Specialists Ltd – The Chocolate Works (York)

  • TOL Decorators Ltd – Pitmason House, Church of Scientology (Birmingham)

  • Wharfedale Decorations Ltd – Bradford Royal Infirmary

For more information please visit: www.johnstonestrade.com/projects-awards/awards/painter-of-the-year

Latest news

See all news

Find a stockist

Please contact your nearest store where they can check stock or order in for pick up.

Your nearest stockists:

Johnstones Trade Paint
Back to Top